Structure and Subsidiarie


Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Trust (the Trust) is the Post-Settlement Governance Entity tasked with leading the ‘Group’. The Group includes three entities, being the Trust and its subsidiaries Whai Maia Limited and Whai Rawa Limited.

Whai Maia and Whai Rawa each have their own Boards, management, and operate their own companies.

The Trust is the single shareholder for both subsidiaries and appoints Board members for both Whai Maia and Whai Rawa.

Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Whai Maia Limited is a charitable trust and is responsible for the social and cultural development of our people. Its focus is on building the capacity of our people, so they are able to take control of their own destiny.

Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Whai Rawa Limited is tasked with maintaining and growing the commercial assets and investments of our hapū. The profits gained enable our tribal development and fund the work undertaken by Whai Maia in education, health, and employment.

Our marae is at the heart of our hapū and connects us all as Ngā Uri o Tūperiri through our whakapapa.



The Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Trust has two wholly owned subsidiary companies. These subsidiaries have their own boards of governance with a mix of whānau and independent directors. All subsidiary board members are appointed by the Trust.

Our subsidiary Board members are highly skilled individuals who we have chosen to represent us to develop our overall objectives.

Whai Rawa Limited is a property development and investment company, whose principal objective is to maximise the financial or economic returns to the Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei Group, so it is able to support Ngāti Whātua Ōrākei whānau for generations to come. The funds generated by Whai Rawa are used to support the tribal development goals of Whai Maia.

Whai Maia Limited is a charitable trust with the responsibility for the tribal development of our people. Its main areas of focus are Employment and Education, Health and Wellbeing, Tourism, Arts and Culture, Toki Taiao, and managing key relationships.